So with much glee and kleenex at my disposal….

I’m psyched and looking forward to seeing The Wrestler. As a ‘former’ wrestling nut, I hope to be reminded of the glory days of Bret, Owen, JYD, Koko B. Ware, Hulk, Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat, Hacksaw and so on and so on…

I knew it was fake, but I mean c’mon if you were a teeny tot (let’s say I was four, it’s a nice round number) and you saw Rick Martel smash a beer bottle over his head, I mean, wow! That was my first wrestling memory, catching a glimpse on some night (or morning) that I should’ve been behaving (ie. sleeping or going to church). I was hooked, doomed (and blessed) to follow the delightful escapades of the bad guys – unless it was a bad guy turned good (and like many, I assume, would patiently wait for said character to turn bad again – because the ‘acting’ was a lot better).

*so RAZZLE-n’-DAZZLED, you often went on the FRIZZ, you repeat – with glee *

And as a silly child with “special” dreams of becoming a wrestler, who, especially back in the late 80s to mid 90s, needed a hero better known as the ‘WWF’. All things were simple, the ‘campiness’ better known as ‘good’ and ‘evil’ or America vs Canada reigned supreme – with a dab of ‘oooooooooooooooooooooooooooh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh’. You couldn’t wait to get caught up on the latest shenanigans! You needed to run away from the utter humiliation of your real life ;(

*Sigh*

So, I gotta see this movie, I’m sure I’ll cry, ’cause I’m like that. But what is a dream, if you are loathe to know the life one leads to have the dream? Sure, I know the ‘life’ wasn’t grand, obviously. But,  if I could, I would’ve been a wrestler, knowing that life on the road is lonely and love fades and occasionally glows – it’d be like the life I lead today…. Although, at this point, I’d have a ‘better’ sense of accomplishment – who knows, I could have put a smile on someone’s face… you know, helped them to dream, if only for awhile….

~ by tashpoeme on December 30, 2008.

One Response to “So with much glee and kleenex at my disposal….”

  1. It’s not quite the same, but it made me think of Randy Pausch’s last lecture:

    1. Brick walls are there for a reason: they let us prove how badly we want things.
    2. Experience is what you get when you didn’t get what you wanted.
    3. Never lose the child-like wonder.
    4. If we do something which is pioneering, we will get arrows in the back. But at the end of the day, a whole lot of people will have a whole lot of fun.
    5. Be good at something; it makes you valuable.
    6. If you live your life the right way, the karma will take care of itself, and the dreams will come to you.

    R.I.P Good sir & may the brave fight (and the untold joy) keep moving on!

Leave a Reply

 
