So with much glee and kleenex at my disposal….pt2

So, I finally saw The Wrestler

And right now I got Bruce Springsteen’s song of the same name on a loop – gawd *sighs* I was right about the Kleenex! Kudos to Mr. Darren Aronofsky for capturing everything I had imagined this wrestling life to be (call me sad, I still wish I went down that road). I don’t want to say that it should win awards because frankly there are many people saying it and with more prowess than I can. I want to say that the movie was just, fantastic… I was a kid again, looking forward to seeing my heroes every weekend.

It was the perfect addition to the funk that I seem to be in lately ie: a one trick pony, damaged and bruised and lost, with one leg and trying to dance and jump and fly – knowing that I’m going fall hard and it’s going to hurt.

*sigh* I spent the last 5-10 minutes of the movie crying and begging that The Ram didn’t die on screen, it would have reminded me too much of Owen Hart. Fuck, but it did anyway, and I cried a little harder just because and even harder still when he looked for Cassidy and she wasn’t there and when The Ram climbed that top rope for what I’ll call the last time – the ol’ floodgates flew apart.

If you haven’t yet, I implore you to go and see it….

http://www.imeem.com/theeplaylist/music/PrLSqjJu/bruce_springsteen_the_wrestler/

~ by tashpoeme on January 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
